Question of the Week 20

 Hi All,

Glad to be back online after the holidays. I was sent the board shown below.

 

                     North

                     ª 9 8 6

                     © K 6

                     ¨ J 10 9 7 5 2

                     § J 3

West                                  East

ª K 10 5                             ª A J 7 2

© J 9 8 5                             © A Q 10 7 4 3

¨ A Q 3                               ¨ K

§ A 10 4                             § Q 8

                     South

                     ª Q 4 3

                     © 2

                     ¨ 8 6 4

                     § K 9 7 6 5 2


Suppose West opens 1 Club and East responds 1 Heart to force opener to describe his hand. West rebids 2 Hearts to promise 13-16 points and at least 4 Hearts. East rebids 2 Spades, a control bid, and West rebids 3 Clubs, another control bid. 


If East now jumps to 4 Hearts, is that a stop bid or should West continue? West has clearly described his hand to East, the Captain, and East has chosen to stop short of the slam. East knows what West has and West is not really sure what East has. West must pass.


Suppose instead that East rebids 3 Diamonds, another control bid. West must rebid 4 Diamonds, another control bid, to show the Ace which greatly improves partner's King. East still sees several possible losers, but he also sees around 35 points, a good fit and all the Aces. If East isn't satisfied, he can bid 4 Hearts which would definitely be to stop, but DSS will always bid the slam.


Dave